LGBT in the Classroom

This is a tough topic for me because I believe that God created each person with a specific identity. My heart breaks when I see the brokenness in this community. However, that doesn’t mean I won’t love them and it definitely doesn’t mean I refuse to associate with them.

In the video we watched in class, that Catholic school was wrong to kick her out but they have standards and have their own beliefs. Tracy couldn’t get mad at them for practicing their beliefs and not hers. Who is she to say they’re the wrong ones? I am unsure how much of this I will include in my classroom. Since I follow the Bible and take it as truth, I believe it is a sin (no more than gossiping or being selfish) but I don’t want to encourage that lifestyle.

My classroom can and will be a safe place without this instruction because my kids will know for sure they are valued as an individual.

Leave a Reply

