Hair

I have never considered the impact of teaching on different hairstyles. I have never thought about the prejudice that can come with it either. After discussing this in class, I have developed a better understanding of what other cultures go through with their hair.

After exploring different hair styles for our hair unit, my eyes were opened to how many tools are out there to educate students. Ultimately, I think it comes down to acceptance and never singling out any students in regards to their looks. I found many good books in my research, including a book by actor Taye Diggs. There are great resources out there to inform and expose kids to the diversity in our country.

Leave a Reply

